Introduction

I never envisioned myself living in one city forever.That always seemed boring, especially when there is so much more of the world to explore. How I saw it, there were three options on where I could go to school; I could remain comfortable and stay in Calgary, follow half of my friends and go to Vancouver, or completely leave all I know and go to Toronto.

Toronto always enticed me. While going up I spent many summers visiting my Granny in Mississauga and travelling around the province. After my Granny passed, the visits to the GTA became less frequent, but I loved what Ontario had to offer and knew this is where I saw myself living at some point. Although I always wanted to attend a school in the big city, I didn’t think I would actually get the opportunity to.

VProcessed with VSCOcam with a7 presetancouver was closer to home and if people were going away for school, thats where they went. Being fresh out of high school it was hard to understand that the friends I had then wont be there forever, and I shouldn’t base my choices off what everyone else was doing. I decided to take a year off and to take the time to work, travel, and figure out where I wanted my life to go.

I found out Mount Royal University in Calgary had a broadcast program, It spiked my attention and I applied. Unfortunately, I applied to late –  the program was full and I was number 20 on the waitlist. I registered for random classes at the university knowing next year I will try again and get in. Except I didn’t.

I applied early into the program, thought I killed the interview, but was waitlisted again. I wasn’t going to take anymore time off so I started looking into other options. I knew I wanted to go into broadcast journalism and there was limited options that had what I was looking for. I realized then I didn’t have to be stuck in Calgary anymore, and this could be my chance to finally move to Toronto.

I stumbled across the Humber College site and saw they had a program that offered almost exactly what I wanted. I applied to Humber, Sheridan and for safe measures applied to the Mount Royal journalism program. Humber was the first to get back to me and although I got accepted into Sheridan as well, I knew Humber was the right choice.

As excited as I was to move, I was also terrified. I had a comfortable life in Calgary; I was in a healthy relationship, had a good group of friends, and a loving family. I almost backed out when a couple months before moving I got accepted into the journalism program at Mount Royal University. The program coordinator personally called me to invite me to the program, but as tempting as it was to remain in Calgary, my need for change out shined my fear of leaving. I needed to start making choices for myself and this was the time to do that.

In August 2014 I moved to Toronto. I had no friends, no family, and was going to a school i’d never seen or heard of before applying. Its been over a year later and I couldn’t be happier with my choice to move. I’ve not only been able to maintain my friendships back home, but I have met many more unique people in my new city. I’ll be staying here for a while. Or at least until another adventure comes my way.

Leave a Reply

